Skip to content

CARPE DIEM #1259: The Potter’s Creation.

This poem is dedicated to every “potter” who hath ever created. I salute you. Your creation is beautiful.

A 7 stanza haiku on today’s picture. Whatever it is that is your craft, your art, that which you sacrificed your life to, it will bear fruit one day. Patience, a virtue while you toil and strength ,a much needed resource. It may not be perfect but what really is perfect?

Each pot unique and beautiful. No ‘One’ mould. No “One” shape exquisite. Guard it with love, blow it with care and let it harden so it may weather any storm.

 

pottery

Creating Beauty

 

Pure and soft, it felt
Moving beneath my hands thus,
Slowly and surely.

I shaped, I sculpted,
That which was granted to mould,
I slipped, times’ I slid.

Working day and night,
My heart, I allowed to guide,
The hands labored hard.

With trepidation,
I watched. Slowly yet surely,
My eyes saw it form.

Would it be perfect,
imperfect, yet beautiful?
Would they accept it?

Many years of toil,
Hadn’t been any good at craft,
A Miracle This!

Soft and smooth it looked,
The mould, strong and hard within,
Pure and clean it stood.

It would slip, I knew,
Times’ it would slide, I was sure,
Break? Certainly Not!

I hope you enjoyed reading it. I loved writing each word of it.

Do share your comments on a “pot” that you painstakingly created with all you had. Were there times you felt like giving up? Was there a time it made you cry- the process? Did you glow with pride on seeing it form? Did it make you smile even once…then it was worth the effort.

Copyright ©,2017. lifeateacher.wordpress.com. All Rights Reserved.

 

 

 

 

32 Comments »

    • Thank you so much☺. You’re so right. That period of doubt in oneself is the most difficult hurdle that needs to be crossed and there can be no greater pride for the artist than seeing a successfully completed ‘pot’.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Thank you for seven beajtifully crafted haiku on “creating beauty”. It’s really a tribute, a song of praise, to all those wonderful artists around the globe. This ‘message’ I can fully agree on. That’s the reason why in my opinion every haiku, tanka or other Japanese poetry I read at CDHK is a masterpiece, a gem, because they are all written right from the heart and not from the mind. Thank you … I bow …

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

